This year Burton Snowboards – who is the oldest snowboard production company I know of worldwide – opened a flagship store in Munich. I have been on a board since 1990 and for me this global player has the most genuine and friendly image you can imagine. Owner-managed and always very innovative, Burton has always been pushing the advancement of snowboarding and the lifestyle connected to it. They never forgot to put their focus on sustainability and nature. My first 10 years of snowboarding have been affected by punk rock, rebellion and stunts which I nowadays would most likely not do anymore.

This made it even more special for me to get the chance to paint Burton’s store front right at Munich’s famous Viktualienmarket which is a rather traditional and conservative part of the city. So I used my style outside to announce the opening of the new shop.

 

 

The Grand Opening took place a couple of weeks later and I was happy that I had the chance to be a part of it. The who is who of the snowboard scene like Terje Haakonsen, Grilo, Seppl Ramsbacher, Anna Gasser and a couple of oldschool legends partied hard with drinks and live music in the backyard until the neighbours started to pour buckets of water on us from their balconies.

During this crazy night I had the honor to gift Jake Burton and his lovely wife Donna Carpenter two of my personalised BOYS FROM THE WOOD. What a special moment for me! Thanks again for this crazy good and precious time! Standing sideways.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

In München wurde dieses Jahr der erste Flagshipstore des wohl dienstältesten Snowboardherstellers BURTON SNOWBOARDS eröffnet. Dass ich seit 1990 auf einem Brett unterwegs bin und dieses Unternehmen trotz des Global Player-Images für mich als eines der authentischsten und sympatischsten überhaupt gilt, will ich an dieser Stelle nicht verheimlichen. Inhabergeführt und immer innovativ auf die Weiterentwicklung des Snowboardsports und des damit verbundenen Lifestyles fokussiert setzt Burton seit Jahren auch auf Nachhaltigkeit und Naturverbundenheit. Meine ersten 10 Snowboardjahre waren geprägt von Punkrock, Rebellentum und Stunts, die ich so heute wahrscheinlich nicht mehr machen würde.

Umso schöner für mich, dass ich die Gelegenheit bekam, die Ladenfront direkt am sonst eher traditionell konservativen Münchener Viktualienmarkt etwas abzustylen, um auf die bevorstehende Eröffnung hinzuweisen.

 

Das Grand Opening einige Wochen später konnte ich mir natürlich nicht entgehen lassen. Das Who is Who der Snowboardszene mit Terje Haakonsen, Grilo, Seppl Ramsbacher, Anna Gasser und etlichen Oldschool Legenden feierte bei ordentlich Drinks und Livemusik, bis die Nachbarn die Wassereimer von den Balkonen schütteten.

Im Laufe des Abends wurde mir noch die Ehre zuteil, Jake Burton und seiner Frau Donna Carpenter zwei meiner personalisierten BOYS FROM THE WOOD zu überreichen. What a Moment! Danke nochmals für diese tolle und herzliche Zeit! Standing sideways.

Leave A Comment

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.